Sekhukhune Development Agency (“SDA” or “the Development Agency”) was established in 2005 and incorporated as a private limited liability company. The sole shareholder of the Sekhukhune Development Agency is Greater Sekhukhune District Municipality.

The Development Agency was established as a special purpose vehicle whose primary responsibility would be the promotion, facilitation and incubation of high impact, catalytic economic development and investment projects throughout Greater Sekhukhune District.


The mandate of the SDA is to promote the overall economic development of the Greater Sekhukhune District by identifying and implementing economic projects and investments intended to expand and diversify the economic base of the Greater Sekhukhune District. Emphasis is on large, catalytic and strategic projects, and undertaking all work related to project planning (feasibility analysis, sourcing of funds, implementation, monitoring and evaluation and marketing), and in so doing promote sustainable economic development.

Mandate Area

The mandate area or geographical area of responsibility of the SDA is the entirety of the Greater Sekhukhune District, which comprises the following municipalities:

Elias Motsoaledi Municipality
Ephraim Mogale Municipality
Fetakgomo Municipality
Greater Tubatse Municipality
Makhuduthamaga Municipality

Geographical co-ordinates

The Greater Sekhukhune District is situated approximately 200 kilometres north of Pretoria (Tshwane), 150 kilometres west of Nelspruit (Mbombela) and 120 kilometres south of Polokwane.

District Economic Profile

Key economic sectors in the Greater Sekhukhune District are:

Mining; and

Economic activity is predominantly concentrated in Ephraim Mogale (Marble Hall) and Elias Motsoaledi (Groblersdal) areas (agriculture and tourism) and the Greater Tubatse municipal area (mining and tourism). The District is mineral rich, and is host to the world’s largest deposits of platinum group metals (PGMs).


To develop Greater Sekhukhune District into a world class region through facilitation of high impact, sustainable and strategic economic projects so as to attain shared growth.


To be an innovative Agency that champions sustainable economic development.

Core Values

The core values of Sekhukhune Development Agency include:



CEO Profile

    Sephaka Motswiane
Chief Executive Officer

Sephaka Motswiane
Chief Executive Officer

Sephaka holds a National Diploma in Business Administration, a B Tech in Strategic Management (Technikon Northern Gauteng, South Africa – now Tshwane University of Technology) and an MBA in Corporate Strategy and Economic Policy from Maastricht University’s School of Management, The Netherlands.

Sephaka has extensive development and project management experience gained from having worked for, among others, the then South African Government National Department of Provincial and Local Government (now Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs – COGTA), the Agricultural Research Council (ARC), the South African Government National Department of Agriculture, the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT).

The management of the Development Agency is led by a dedicated Chief Executive Officer, who is appointed by the Board of Directors and also reports to the Board of Directors.

In terms of the Local Government: Municipal Financial Management Act, Act No. 56 of 2003, the Chief Executive Officer of the Development Agency is the Accounting Officer of the Development Agency, and has all the powers, duties and responsibilities contemplated in the MFMA and South African Companies Act.

The team responsible for the running of the operations of the Development Agency is as follows:

Mr Sephaka Motswiane (Chief Executive Officer)
Mr Robert Mashitoa (HR Officer)
Mr Mailula Maredi (Finance Officer)
Ms Shirley Lubisi (Administrator)

Board of Directors

The members of the Board of Directors of Sekhukhune Development Agency are as follows:

Mr Makotanyane Moroamoche (Chairman)
Mr Mantsitsi Maphutha (Chairman - Finance Committee)
Mrs Tiny Mankge (Chairman - HR and Remuneration Committee)
Mr Tito Nkadimeng (Chairman - Projects Operations Committee)
Mr Abram Mashabela
Mr Peter Mokgotho
Dr Lesetja Marepo


Sekhukhune District Municipality

Sekhukhune District Municipality is the sole shareholder of Sekhukhune Development Agency, and is thus the parent municipality of the entity.


Copyright © SDA 2011. All rights reserved.

Developed by Rivoni Investments Advisory Services, Likhakwe Communications & Raw Talent Designs